10 Books You Should Add to Your TBR this Summer

This book contains affiliate links, which means that if you buy through them, I’ll get a small commission. You won’t get charged a cent more! Thank you for supporting A Wanderer’s Adventures.

Click through to see what books you should add to your TBR this summer.

I don’t know why, but I have been in such a reading mood lately. Maybe it’s the fact that summer is *finally* upon us, or maybe I’m just getting tired of bingeing stuff on Netflix (haha, let’s be serious for a moment). But I’ve read 7 books in the past month (including two books in the span of a three-day weekend), which hasn’t happened in ages. With all of this reading, I have discovered a few favorites. So, here are 10 books I’ve loved this year and that you should definitely add to your TBR this summer!

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

If you know me at all, then you know that To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is one of my all-time favorite book series. So you must know that I was SO happy when I found out that Jenny Han had decided to write a third and final book to conclude Lara Jean’s story! (Because, if I’m being completely honest, I was a bit disappointed by the ending of the second book) Now, if you haven’t read the first two books of the TATBILB series, DROP EVERYTHING AND DO IT NOW. Trust me, you will not regret it. I had such high expectations for this book, I was afraid I would be disappointed. But this book was actual perfection! Jenny Han could not have written a better ending to Lara Jean’s story. It was so beautiful and raw, I cried at the end.

SHOP NOW

By Your Side by Kasie West

Getting accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend? Did you mean my dream? But it’s actually the opposite of a dream for Autumn Collins. And what makes it worst? Realizing she’s locked in with Dax Miller. If you love sweet, young adult romance novel, this one is for you! Fans of Morgan Matson and Stephanie Perkins will surely enjoy Kasie West’ most recent novel. Sure, being locked in a library isn’t all that realistic (and that comes from someone who works there), but it’s the perfect premise for a hate-turned-to-love novel!

SHOP NOW

Salt to Sea by Ruta Sepetys

This book wins the award for saddest and most beautiful book of the year. This story is one of the saddest I’ve ever read. The shipwreck of the Wilhelm Gustloff is one of the disasters that has killed the most people in the maritime history, eclipsing the Titanic and the Lusitania who went through similar faiths. And yet no one talks about it. Of course, a story set during the WWII in Germany is bound to be tragic. But I wasn’t expecting this book to wreck me the way that it did. Ruta Sepetys wrote amazing characters. You grow to love these characters (and hate some of them), but you know not all of them are going to make it until the end. All of them have an interesting background story, something that explains why they are the way they are. I loved digging deeper into their character and getting to know them better. This book is beautifully written. You feel for these people, and you can imagine what they are going through because the images are so vividly described. I felt sick and heartbroken on more than one occasion. Sepetys’s words are that powerful. If you love historical fiction, this book will destroy you. 

SHOP NOW

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Probably my favorite read of the year so far! If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I decided to randomly to reread it recently just because I felt like it. Yup, that’s just how amazing it is. Quite honestly, if you had asked me after the first time that I read it if it was one of my favorites, I would have said no. Sure, the characters have intense chemistry, and I love their quirks and personality, but it fell kind of flat. Of course, it’s uber cute and sexy as hell, but it’s not all that different from other New Adult novels I’ve read before. But, when you still think about the book months after you’ve read it, you know it’s good. The writing is witty, and I loved the back story of both main characters. If you like books that are a little cliché and the love-hate banter trope, this book is perfect for you!

SHOP NOW

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I was really into non-fiction at the beginning of the year. I read Bossypants last fall and loved it! I listened to the audiobook and it made me want to try more of them. Amy Poehler’s book had been on my TBR for a while, so I was super excited to dive into it! I think Amy Poehler is a great comedian, and if her book was going to be as good as Tina Fey’s I knew I would love it! Let me tell you that I was not disappointed. Not only is it as hilarious as you would expect it to be, it’s also full of great life and career advice! Poehler is a talented writer. And if you want the full experience, you HAVE to listen to the audiobook! Poehler does not disappoint.

SHOP NOW

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Maddy is sick. Her disease is as rare as it is famous – she’s allergic to the world. She can’t leave her house, hasn’t left it in seventeen years. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. And she sees him. You know how this book is going to end before you even get started. But still, it surprises you. Not only does the story end with a plot twist you won’t see coming (unless you’ve watched the movie trailer, oops), but the writing is also so unique and beautiful. Nicola Yoon sure is a gifted writer. She slipped into the skin of a seventeen-year-old easily. The book is full of little drawings, and emails, making the book more relatable. Y’all, this book is AMAZING. 

SHOP NOW

You Know Me Well by David Levithan & Nina de la Cour

If you’re looking for a cute LGBTQ+ friendly book, look no further! While this book’s story isn’t the best, the characters are super adorable. I loved seeing the relationship between Mark and Kate grow. Even if they had a weird and totally unnatural start, in the end, they had a beautiful friendship. Just for that, the book is worth it. It might not have been my cup of tea, but this book is certainly a cute young adult novel!

SHOP NOW

Royally Matched by Emma Chase

Being a king is a motherlode of responsibility. And Henry is just not ready for it. So after he meets an American television producer, Henry finally makes a decision all on his own: Welcome to Matched: Royal Edition, a reality TV dating game show featuring twenty of the world’s most beautiful blue bloods gathered in the same castle. Only one will win the diamond tiara, only one will capture the handsome prince’s heart. I read the first book of the Royally series earlier this year, and while I did not love it, I did enjoy it. So when I read the teaser for this sequel, I was certainly curious. And I ended up liking this book a lot more than I thought I would! The characters are hella cute and they had instant chemistry. And you do not need to have read the first book to enjoy this one! You might be missing a little bit of background story, but you don’t really need to understand everything. If you love New Adult novels, this one is really worth it!

SHOP NOW

Little Black Dresses Little White Lies by Laura Stampler

If The Devil Wears Prada involved teenagers, what would it look like? Welcome to Little Black Dresses Little White Lies! When Harper Anderson lands her dream internship as a dating blogger at the elite teen magazine Shift, she is beyond ecstatic. She always knew that she belonged somewhere more glamorous than her Northern California suburb. There’s just one teeny-tiny unimportant detail: Harper doesn’t have a lot —or any really —dating expertise. Actually, she might have sort of stolen her best friend’s experiences as her own on her Shift application. If you like teenage drama and romance, this book is perfect for you!

SHOP NOW

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

If you follow any bookstagrammer on Instagram, then you’ve probably heard about this book. When Kaz Brekker, criminal prodigy, is offered to take on the hardest mission of his entire life, he is in over the moon. Why? Because if he pulls it off, he’ll be the richest man ever. But, to claim it, it’ll have to achieve the impossible: break into the notorious Ice Court (a military stronghold that has never been breached), retrieve a hostage (who could unleash magical havoc on the world), and survive long enough to collect his reward (and spend it). Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first. This story is amazing, with great, well-defined characters. And if you love YA dystopian novels, you will just LOVE this book, I promise!

However, if you haven’t read the author’s previous trilogy – The Grisha -, you might be a little bit confused. The world in which the characters evolved was amazing, but it’s confusing when you’re not familiar with it. I probably should have read the trilogy so I could understand what was going on better.

SHOP NOW

What are the books on your TBR this summer? Any recent favorites?

 

Share:
  • I’ve only read about half of these, so now I feel like I need to finish out this list lol. Little Black Dresses Little White Lies sounds like it’s right up my alley! I also haven’t finished anything of David Levithan’s yet (because I’m the WORST), but I LOVE his writing. I really gotta get on that! Thanks for the great list, Amelie!

    • Haha, which ones have you read so far? Little Black Dresses Little White Lies is really good – I kinda wish I was Harper, the main character (but also I’m really glad I’m not, haha). David Levithan is great, but I’ve yet to find a book of his that I just LOVE. I’m glad you enjoyed the post, Francesca!

  • Love this book list! Have any good audiobook recommendations by chance? I’ve got a long drive coming up!

    Darrian | http://www.darrianmichelle.com

    • I haven’t read that many audiobooks yet… but I’ve absolutely LOVED Bossypants by Tina Fey and Yes Please by Amy Poehler as audiobooks! I’ve also read Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare and it was amazing, but you have to have read The Mortal Instruments series before in order to understand what’s going on. I’m sorry, I cannot be of much help on this. :/

      • You’re totally fine, I knew it was a random question haha! I think I’ve decided on One of Us is Lying. It sounds like a really good read for a long trip!

  • Lyndsey Jackson

    This is a great list of reads! I’ve been wanting to read, “Everything, Everything”. Personally, I’ve been into mystery novels this summer and read, “Alex Cross’ Trial” and “All the Missing Girls”.

    http://www.lyndseycamille.com

    • Everything, Everything is really good! I’m not really into mystery novels and thrillers, but I hope you enjoy them!

  • I had no idea Salt to Sea was a historical fiction book. For some reason I thought it was a dystopia book? Looks like I need to stop judging books by covers. Lol

    • Haha, I totally didn’t know it was a historical fiction book before I started reading it, so I understand!